The Digital Divide

With today’s technology, almost anything is possible. All the information we want or need is at our finger tips and different worlds and cultures and peoples are connected. Technological advancements have helped take our nation to new heights. But is all this technology too much?

Every day, I wake up and check my phone for text messages. I check it for the weather so I know what to wear. I check Twitter and Instagram and Facebook to catch up with friends. I FaceTime with my friend in Florida and my friend in Ohio. I look up song lyrics or a recipe or which floor cleaner to use. I use my phone ad computer for literally EVERYTHING I do, and when I am without it, I feel lost. I keep reaching for my pocket to get it just to find that its not there. I consider it my baby, because it is so valuable to me. If I had to live without my phone…..while I just couldn’t. 

Having the ability to be connected almost everywhere I go aids to my phone addiction. I can listen to Pandora at the gym, scroll through Instagram while waiting for my Chinese order to be done, and look up what’s on TV so I know what to watch later. Wireless connection  helps me to be in the loop 24/7.  ” ‘ Americans are more apt to rely on wireless only, for Internet access because it’s affordable and accessible, ‘Jamie Hastings, a vice president at the trade organization Cellular Telecommunications and Internet Association, said in an interview. Currently there are over 100 million wireless connections in the United States.”

About Noel Biever

My name is Noel Elaine Biever, and I'm from Lebanon, Pennsylvania. I hate living in the small town and I am ready to branch out. I love to travel. I've been to 11 countries in Europe and I can' t wait to go on another adventure. I hope to one day live and work in Europe, raise a big family, and speak a lot of languages fluently. Singing and acting are two things I absolutely love to do, as well as playing the guitar. I am a big fan of movies, and I am addicted to the $5 movie bin at Walmart. Saturday Night Live and The Big Bang Theory are two of my favorite shows, and I abolutely adore HGTV. I love the little things in life and I believe that everything happens for a reason. So that's me in a paragraph. Thanks for stoppin by:)

Posted on November 10, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Despite all the issues with social media and technology, I think that it helps society stay more connected. We are more informed about things that are happening in our world. I personally believe that the more technology we have the better. Hopefully one day the technology that is being created will help our lives become more enriched.

Leave a Reply

