Netflix DVD’s: Should they stay or should they go?

When I was younger, my sister and I would get up early in the morning to watch our favorite TV show: Digimon. The theme song goes, ” Digimon, digital monster, Digimon are the champions!” We absolutely loved watching it, and we would pick out our favorite monsters and characters. We were extremely sad when the show stopped airing.

Just a few months ago, after weeks and weeks of bugging my mother, I signed up for a Netflix account( best decision of my life!) I was overwhelmed with the amount of movies I could choose from, especially some older ones that I haven’t watched in quite some time. I watched Superstar, starring Molly Shannon and Will Ferrell at least ten times. And then, when I looked through the kids section, I found Digimon! I watched all the episodes and when I was done with them, I watched them again in Japanese. Netflix proved to be worth the money.

I enjoyed the old shows, but I also wanted to see the new movies as well. They had to be ordered and sent via mail in a little red envelope, which took too long for my liking. It made me wonder if Netflix would ever make the newest movies available online too. Netflix is realizing the steady decline of people who spend the extra money to have the DVD’s sent to them. The article on GigaOm  The slow but inevitable decline of Netflix’s DVD business, states that, ” Around seven million customers still pay Netflix to send them DVDs of movies and TV shows via mail. Two years ago, that number was twice as high. Fast forward another two years, and there could be around four million customers left who get their red envelopes from Netflix. Or maybe even less.” The life of the Netflix DVD may be terminated sooner rather than later.

About Noel Biever

My name is Noel Elaine Biever, and I'm from Lebanon, Pennsylvania. I hate living in the small town and I am ready to branch out. I love to travel. I've been to 11 countries in Europe and I can' t wait to go on another adventure. I hope to one day live and work in Europe, raise a big family, and speak a lot of languages fluently. Singing and acting are two things I absolutely love to do, as well as playing the guitar. I am a big fan of movies, and I am addicted to the $5 movie bin at Walmart. Saturday Night Live and The Big Bang Theory are two of my favorite shows, and I abolutely adore HGTV. I love the little things in life and I believe that everything happens for a reason. So that's me in a paragraph. Thanks for stoppin by:)

Posted on October 21, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I too am a fairly new Netflix costumer. When I first got on to see what was available, I was happy to see older movies that I have not seen in quiet some time but I was also disappointed to see that newer movies were not available. I think if Netflix gets rid of their DVD mailing, they will lose the customers who want to get the newer movies. That or they need to make them available online.

Leave a Reply

