The Future of Affordable Housing

Dorm life is something that is anticipated my some and dreaded by others. Sharing a space with one, two or three more people seems like an interesting, yet scary experience. It could end in friendship or turmoil. Dorms themselves are usually small and dull rooms and the bathrooms that have to be shared aren’t the cleanest places to be in. Usually freshmen and sophomores are required to live in dorms if they choose not to live at home during their college experience, so dorm life is something they have to be accustomed to.ย But what if you didn’t have to?

The Swedish firm Tengbom Architects has created a 33 square- foot hut that is ideal for the college student. “Each hut is made from local, cross-laminated wood, and fits a sleeping loft, bathroom, kitchen, garden, and patio into the layout like a clown car for college kids. It has a fold-down kitchen table, and built-in shelving and storage to maximize the space. It’s such a smart layout that apparently it reduces rent by half and cuts down on its carbon footprint by even more.” It is creative AND environmentally friendly!

The only problem that isn’t worked out is if this structure would work on a college campus. They are not stackable, so enough land would be required for all of them. Also, plumbing and water and gas lines would have to be hooked up to all of them. The concept is exceptional, but will it actually be able to work? I sure hope so!

http://gizmodo.com/is-this-sustainable-hut-the-future-of-affordable-studen-1343160721

About Noel Biever

My name is Noel Elaine Biever, and I'm from Lebanon, Pennsylvania. I hate living in the small town and I am ready to branch out. I love to travel. I've been to 11 countries in Europe and I can' t wait to go on another adventure. I hope to one day live and work in Europe, raise a big family, and speak a lot of languages fluently. Singing and acting are two things I absolutely love to do, as well as playing the guitar. I am a big fan of movies, and I am addicted to the $5 movie bin at Walmart. Saturday Night Live and The Big Bang Theory are two of my favorite shows, and I abolutely adore HGTV. I love the little things in life and I believe that everything happens for a reason. So that's me in a paragraph. Thanks for stoppin by:)

Posted on September 19, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

