Passport Life

Traveling is something that I, along with many others, love to experience. Stepping out of the plane onto new territory is a thrilling experience. Walking through the streets of Madrid or learning how to do the Viennese Waltz in Vienna, Austria will always be engraved in my memories. I have traveled to ten countries in my lifetime (Canada, England, Scotland, Whales, France, Spain, Germany, Austria, Slovakia, and the Czech Republic.) In fact, I have traveled to more countries in Europe than states in the US! I learned new culture, ate new food, and  listened to different dialects. It truly is a rewarding experience.

Kenji Summers feels the same way about traveling. He wanted to experience the world but didn’t know how to get there. “Back in 2008, Summers heard the song “Paris Tokyo Remix” by Lupe Fiasco, Pharrell Williams, Q-Tip and Sarah Green. One of the lyrics is, “Fly to Paris, and end up in Tokyo … Let’s start a coalition so even the broke can go.” That was enough motivation for Brooklyn-born Summers to get his first passport….. ‘After that trip, I realized, ‘I need to do this more. This is transformational,’ says Summers. ‘I realized why Pharrell said those lyrics. And it wasn’t just for me, it was for everyone, so I wanted to essentially take the world and give it back to the youth through my organization Passport Life.’

Passport Life is part of a movement that helps those who cannot travel to do just that. They help them get passports and  go out of the country to experience the world. Summers takes people the places like South Africa and  his love for travel has inspired others to travel as well. “I think travel is the coolest thing you can do.”

Summers is right. Traveling can be fun, but also moving and inspirational. You transcend borders and realize that there is a whole different world out there. All people have to do is find the courage to explore and then dive right in.

http://mashable.com/2013/09/15/kenji-summers-passport-life/

About Noel Biever

My name is Noel Elaine Biever, and I'm from Lebanon, Pennsylvania. I hate living in the small town and I am ready to branch out. I love to travel. I've been to 11 countries in Europe and I can' t wait to go on another adventure. I hope to one day live and work in Europe, raise a big family, and speak a lot of languages fluently. Singing and acting are two things I absolutely love to do, as well as playing the guitar. I am a big fan of movies, and I am addicted to the $5 movie bin at Walmart. Saturday Night Live and The Big Bang Theory are two of my favorite shows, and I abolutely adore HGTV. I love the little things in life and I believe that everything happens for a reason. So that's me in a paragraph. Thanks for stoppin by:)

Posted on September 19, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

